FEROCIOUS (Direen, Williams, Contag) ALBUM LAUNCH – 28/02/2020

af web
POSTER copyaf web

Please join us in celebrating the release via Rattle Records of a debut recording by Ferocious, a trio comprised of Bill Direen (voice, organ), Mark Williams (guitar) and Johannes Contag (drums)!


Bill Direen has figured prominently in the musical, theatrical and literary scenes of New Zealand since the early days of Flying Nun. His work includes pop, improvisation and poetry. In the Ferocious context Bill makes timely keyboard interventions and is in charge of the spoken word content. Mark Williams is a cornerstone of Wellington-based group Marineville and curator of the artist film organisation, CIRCUIT. He brings to Ferocious astute control of FX on his Weta Jazz-o-matic guitar. Johannes Contag is known for his work engineering several projects including recent Jay Clarkson albums, and as a drummer in bands including Bad Statistics and Jay Clarkson, bass guitarist in Mink, keyboardist in Cloudboy and guitarist in The Golden Awesome. He has lately been writing music scores for silent movies and translating the stories by Heinrich von Kleist.

The band featured in the Simon Ogston documentary Bill Direen, A Memory of Others.

The music of Tanktop is dreamy, melancholic, and presented with enchanting sincerity. Built upon lyrical foundations of cathartic poetry and freestyle writing, Tanktop’s intimately crafted songs traverse themes of political angst, friendship, love and freedom.


Friday 28 February @ Audio Foundation, doors 8pm
$15 at the door / $10 presales available at https://www.undertheradar.co.nz/utr/ticket