LTK4 Allstars – The Digital Freeze (08/02/2023 – 18/02/2023)

LTK4 Weiand Barié Aust

Please join us to mark the opening of ‘The Digital Freeze’, a group exhibition created by LTK4 Allstars Verena Barié, Anna-Lea Weiand, Luís Antunes Pena & Rochus Aust following their 2022 Spring residency. The LTK4 All Stars return to Audio Foundation where they will collaborate with local practitioners to present a gallery-wide installation and performance.

LTK4 is a gallery curated by Rochus Aust – situated in a tower of an old church in Cologne, it works with a series of ever-changing international guest curators.

“At LTK4, the sound-based analogue and digital arts are understood as open forms of professional artists of every genre with and without genre avoidance.”

Opens: Wednesday 8 February, 5.30pm with refreshments provided by Liberty Brewing Company
Hours: 12 – 4pm, Tuesday – Saturday
Closes: Saturday 18 February


Rochus Aust/Köln · trumpet/installation ·
Rochus Aust is an internationally acting visual trumpeter composing cities/people/climates into his wide-scale projects. As an installation and sound artist, media performer and musician, his stagings of public spaces cross genres and borders. The starting material for his utopian places are set pieces from (still) present everyday life.

Verena Barié/Köln · recorder/mixed media ·
Verena Barié is a media artist, composer and curator and works at the intersection of music, new media and performance art.
Her project FRACHTART exemplifies her curiosity about art formats that give supposedly archaic structures a stage for reflection in order to amaze, amuse and (most importantly) encourage artists and audiences to think along.

Anna-Lea Weiand/Gelsenkirchen · voice/mixedmedia
Anna-Lea Weiand, known as a multimedia artist, working with sounds, interviews, voice and installation art, together with being active as a composer and speaker. Her work is particularly examining the perception of environments as well as their correlation with primary human emotions. Furthermore, Anna-Lea poses as a master student of artist Aernout Mik.

Luís Antunes Pena/Köln · electronics
Luís Antunes Pena is a composer of electronic and instrumental music. He describes his approach to composition based on the “consciousness of uncertainty”, which is a method to integrate various manifestations of noise. His works often include different instruments and sounds from low-fi custom-made electronic circuits and megaphones to acoustic instruments of the western music tradition as well stones, sounds of analog synthesizers or computer-generated structures.